Mixed feelings in Texas

An article about the midterm elections for the daily German newspaper „nd“ Greg Casar is another left-wing Democrat moving into the U.S. House of Representatives—a bright spot on an otherwise mixed election night Guns and cowboy hats were not to be seen at...

Québec in solidarity

On October 3, the Canadian province of Québec elected a new parliament. The incumbent premier, François Legault, and his Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) won the election with 41 percent of the vote. Due to the majority voting system, the party won a whopping 90 of 125...

The Hopeful in the Hudson Valley

Until now, socialist politics have been more acceptable in the cities of the USA. Sarahana Shresta wants to change that in rural New York. Malicious tongues say about the Hudson Valley that it has become the new Brooklyn. It only takes a good three hours to get to the...

Socialism In The Sunshine

In the centre of San Francisco, just opposite its grandiose City Hall, there’s a square surrounded by fencing and blocked off from view. At first glance, it looks like a construction site, but on closer inspection it turns out there are people living in tents. You see...
The „Freedom“ They Mean

The „Freedom“ They Mean

On the protests in Ottowa “It is high time that these illegal and dangerous activities stop,” said Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau. On Friday, February 18, the clearing out began. Police informed downtown Ottawa squatters* in their trucks that they would have...

USA: Blaues Auge statt roter Welle

Die USA haben gewählt. Bei den „Midterm Elections“, den Zwischenwahlen, am 8. November wurden das gesamte Repräsentantenhaus für eine zweijährige Wahlperiode und ein Drittel des Senats für eine sechsjährige Wahlperiode gewählt. Außerdem stand die Mehrheit...

Gemischte Gefühle in Texas

Ein Beitrag zu den Midterm-Elections für das „nd“ Mit Greg Casar zieht ein weiterer linker Demokrat in das US-Repräsentantenhaus ein. Ein Lichtblick an einem ansonsten durchwachsenen Wahlabend Waffen und Cowboyhüte waren bei der Wahlparty in Austin, der...

Das solidarische Québec

Am 3. Oktober wählte die kanadische Provinz Québec ein neues Parlament. Der amtierende Ministerpräsident, François Legault, und seine Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) konnten die Wahl mit 41 Prozent der Stimmen für sich entscheiden. Aufgrund des Mehrheitswahlrechts...

Die Hoffnungsträgerin im Hudson Valley

Bislang war sozialistische Politik eher in den Städten der USA salonfähig. Sarahana Shresta will das im ländlichen New York ändern Böse Zungen sagen über das Hudson Valley, es sei das neue Brooklyn geworden. Bis zu dem Stadtteil in New York City dauert es mit dem Auto...

Der lange Schatten von Gus Hall

Die kommunistische Partei der USA hat eine bewegte Geschichte, die lange von dem ehemaligen Vorsitzenden geprägt wurde Ich erinnere mich an ein Foto von Gus Hall in meinem Schulbuch. Der wichtigste Kommunist Nordamerikas war oft in der DDR zu Gast. Das wohl letzte Mal...