The other America

“There is the other America. It is colorful. It is open to the world. It’s tolerant. It’s progressive.” That is what I want to tell you about here. About the progressives in the US Congress. About Black Lives Matter, the Green New Deal, the fight for unionization, higher minimum wages, feminism, a fair electoral system and immigration. About left culture and history in North America.

Network and contacts

As a Fellow of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung for North America, I can build on both my many years of experience as a leftist politician in the field of foreign affairs and as deputy chairman of the US parliamentary group in the German Bundestag. I have relationships with politicians and policymakers on both sides of the Atlantic and I contribute my perspective and expertise on the US and Canada to institutions (e.g. Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung) and the media (e.g. ARDtaz, Jacobinnd).

Storytelling

With the support of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, I am traveling in the USA and Canada to find answers to these questions: What are the progressive Democrats doing in the US Congress? What is the position of the socialists at Québec Solidaire in Montreal or at the Democratic Socialists of America in San Francisco? How do the conditions for leftists differ between New York City and rural Pennsylvania? What is the role of left foreign policy in the wake of the Russian invasion of Ukraine? If you are interested in hearing the answers, get in touch!

Blog

Mixed feelings in Texas

An article about the midterm elections for the daily German newspaper "nd" Greg Casar is another left-wing Democrat moving into the U.S. House of Representatives—a bright spot on an otherwise mixed election night Guns and cowboy hats were not to be seen at the...

Québec in solidarity

On October 3, the Canadian province of Québec elected a new parliament. The incumbent premier, François Legault, and his Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) won the election with 41 percent of the vote. Due to the majority voting system, the party won a whopping 90 of 125...

Review

I was a member of parliaments from 1995 to 2021 — first in the Abgeordnetenhaus (Berlin State House of Representatives), then in the Bundestag, the federal parliament of Germany. My work during this time is archived here.

Recent Publications

„The fears of the white middle class are real. For a long time now, the American dream has been over and the promise of upward mobility has been broken. It is far from a foregone conclusion that their children will one day fare better. But instead of directing anger at those who bear responsibility for it, at billionaires whose fortunes have grown ever larger in the pandemic, at politicians who continue to keep taxes low for the rich but won’t raise the minimum wage or eliminate tuition, the right-wingers in society direct anger at minorities.“ (From „The Trauma of a Generation,“ nd, May 22, 2022)

I regularly publish articles, conduct interviews or write essay about progressive politics in America. The most recent pieces can be found in this section.

Democracy at risk

„If people feel improvements between now and the fall, the Democrats can still win.“

Link

The „Freedom“ They Mean

„It would be too easy to dismiss the whole thing as a fringe right-wing US event.“

Link

 

Rebuild Class politics

„That was one of the German left’s successful fights.“

Link

 

 

Socialism in The Sunshine

„Democratic socialism is no longer a dirty word, but rather a term that inspires hope.

Link

The „Other America“

„Progressives on both sides of the Atlantic should take a greater interest in each other.“

Link

Contact

Stefan Liebich

Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung – New York Office 

275 Madison Avenue, Suite 2114

New York, NY 10016

stefan.liebich (at) rosalux.org

Das andere Amerika

„Es gibt das andere Amerika. Es ist bunt. Es ist weltoffen. Es ist tolerant. Es ist progressiv.“ Und darüber möchte ich hier erzählen. Über die progressiven Demokraten im US-Kongress. Über Black Lives Matter, den Green New Deal, den Kampf für gewerkschaftliche Organisierung, höhere Mindestlöhne, Feminismus, ein gerechtes Wahlsystem und Einwanderung. Über linke Kultur und Geschichte in Nordamerika.

Netzwerk und Kontakte

Als Fellow der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung für Nordamerika kann ich auf meine langjährigen Erfahrungen als linker Außenpolitiker und stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Parlamentariergruppe USA im Deutschen Bundestag aufbauen. Ich habe ein Netzwerk von Kontakten auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks geknüpft und bringe meine Sicht und unabhängige linke Expertise auf die USA und Kanada im Gespräch mit Institutionen (z.B. Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung) und Medien (z.B. taz, Jacobin, nd) ein.

Geschichten erzählen

Mit Unterstützung der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung bin ich in den USA und Kanada unterwegs, denn ich habe viele Fragen: Was machen die progressiven Demokraten im US-Kongress? Wie sind die Sozialist*innen bei Québec Solidaire in Montreal oder bei den Democratic Socialists of America in San Francisco aufgestellt? Wie unterscheiden sich die Rahmenbedingungen für Linke zwischen New York City und dem ländlichen Pennsylvania? Welche Rolle spielt linke Außenpolitik unter dem Eindruck der russischen Invasion in der Ukraine? Sie interessieren sich für die Antworten? Melden Sie sich!

Blog

Rückblick

Von 1995 bis 2021 war ich Abgeordneter. Zunächst im Abgeordnetenhaus von Berlin, dann im Deutschen Bundestag. Meine Arbeit in dieser Zeit ist hier archiviert.

Aktuelle Publikationen

„Die Ängs­te der wei­ßen Mit­tel­klas­se sind real. Seit lan­gem ist der ame­ri­ka­ni­sche Traum aus­ge­träumt und das Auf­stiegs­ver­spre­chen gebro­chen. Es ist alles ande­re als aus­ge­macht, dass es ihren Kin­dern ein­mal bes­ser gehen wird. Aber statt die Wut gegen jene zu rich­ten, die dafür Ver­ant­wor­tung tra­gen, gegen Mil­li­ar­dä­re, deren Ver­mö­gen in der Pan­de­mie immer wei­ter gewach­sen sind, gegen Poli­ti­ke­rin­nen und Poli­ti­ker, die wei­ter die Steu­ern für die Rei­chen nied­rig hal­ten, aber den Min­dest­lohn nicht erhö­hen und die Stu­di­en­ge­büh­ren nicht strei­chen, rich­ten die Rech­ten in der Gesell­schaft die Wut gegen Minderheiten.“ (Aus „Das Trauma einer Generation“, nd, 22. Mai 2022)

Regelmäßig veröffentliche ich Beiträge, führe Interviews oder schreibe Artikel über das progressive Amerika. Die aktuellsten Texte finden Sie in dieser Rubrik.

Demokratie in Gefahr

„Der Kampf um die Demokratie in den USA geht auch uns etwas an!“

Link

 

Das andere Amerika

„Die Linke ist stärker geworden. Dabei ist ein differenzierter Blick wichtig.“

Link

 

Rebuild Class Politics

„For many of the members, it is not easy to grasp the concept of grassroots movements.“

Link

Das Trauma einer Generation

Seit lan­gem ist der ame­ri­ka­ni­sche Traum aus­ge­träumt.“

Link

 

Sozialismus in Kalifornien

 „Sollten sie wirklich so sehr auf dem falschen Dampfer sein?“

Link

Kontakt

Stefan Liebich

Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung – New York Office 

275 Madison Avenue, Suite 2114

New York, NY 10016

stefan.liebich (at) rosalux.org